Naivasha Sub-County (Constituency)

Naivasha Sub-County

At Kenya’s independence in 1963, Naivasha Sub-County was known as Nakuru East Constituency. The constituency consisted of the present-day Naivasha and Gilgil sub-counties. Naivasha, as a Constituency, was formed during the 1997 elections.

Naivasha is the largest sub-county in Nakuru with a population of 198,444 as per the 2019 census. It is subdivided into 8 wards including;

  1. Maai Mahiu,
  2. Maiella,
  3. Viwandani,
  4. Biashara,
  5. Lakeview,
  6. Ol’Karia,
  7. Hellsgate and
  8. Naivasha East.

Leadership in Naivasha Sub-county

The first MP for Naivasha as a constituency was Paul Samuel Kihara (Democratic Party) in 1997. Kihara was re-elected in 2002 on a NARC ticket but died a year later leading to a by-election.

The widow to the late MP Jayne Wanjiru Kihara was elected MP in the 2003 by-election still under the NARC party and she served until 2007 when John Michael Njenga Mututho (KANU) was elected. Mututho served for one term until 2012 when John Kihagi (Jubilee) took over as MP serving until 2017.

In the 2017 elections, Jayne Kihara was re-elected as MP for Naivasha under a Jubilee Ticket.

Before 1997, Naivasha Constituency was known as Nakuru East and extended up to Gilgil. The first MP at independence was the famous freedom fighter and trade unionist Fred Kubai. Fred Kubai had been one of the “Kapenguria Six.”

Fred Kubai served from 1963 to 1974 when S. T. Kairo took over for five years. From 1979 to 1983, Keffa Njuguna served as the MP and Fred Kubai was re-elected in 1983 for his final term.

In the 1988 elections, Naivasha elected Gitahi Ngaruro who was MP until 1992 when in the first multiparty elections, Francis Wanyange was elected on a Ford Asili ticket. All the previous MPs had been elected via the KANU party.

What is Naivasha famous for?

Naivasha town in Naivasha Sub-county is a popular destination for both local and international tourists. The town has a concentration of many hotels making it an ideal destination for conferences.

Lake Naivasha is the main tourist attraction destination in Naivasha. The lake is home to hippopotamuses and hundreds of bird species. Fishing is also carried out in the lake.

The other tourist attractions in Naivasha include,

Attraction Sites in Naivasha

  1. Longonot
  2. Hellsgate Museum
  3. Crescent Island
  4. Lake Oloiden
  5. Ol’Karia Spa
  6. Crater Lake
  7. Sanctuary Farm
  8. Travellers Chapel (Maai Mahiu)
  9. Ng’ang’a Kihonge

Notable People

  1. John Mututho
  2. Tabitha Karanja
  3. Kariuki Chotara
  4. Fred Kubai
  5. Wa Magui
  6. Fai Amario
  7. Lord Delamere
error: Content is protected !!