Charity Kathambi elected KEWOPA Vice Chair

Njoro Constituency MP Hon. Charity Kathambi Chepkwony is the new Vice Chair of the Kenya Women Parliamentarians Association (KEWOPA).

Charity Kathambi, a first-time legislator from Nakuru county, is among the 15 women who will lead the women parliamentarians group for this term.

KEWOPA brings together Kenyan women MPs, Women Reps and Senators. The leaders have been meeting at a Naivasha hotel for an induction seminar.

Purity Ngirici, the KEWOPA chair
Purity Ngirici, the KEWOPA chair

The chair of the caucus will be Hon. Purity Wangui Ngirici the women representative for Kirinyaga. She will be deputized by Rosa Buyu the Kisumu Women Representative in the National Assembly and nominated senator Millicent Omanga in the Senate. Vocal Mbita constituency MP Millie Odhiambo will be the vice chair, leading women caucus.

Likoni constituency legislator Mishi Mboko will be the caucus’ secretary while Dr Tecla Tum the women representative for Nandi will be the treasurer assisted by Adagala Beatrice. Hon. Adagala is the women representative for Vihiga County.

Other women parliamentarians who were elected to the KEWOPA board are Hon. Alice Wahome, (Kandara MP) Abshiro Halake, (Nominated Senator) Professor Margaret Kamar (Senator Uashin Gishu) and Professor Jacqueline Oduol (Nominated MP).

Hon. Lilian Tomitom the West Pokot county Women Representative will represent the youth while nominated senator Gertrude Inimah will represent people with disabilities (PWDs).

KEWOPA was founded in 2001 by Hon. Martha Karua, Governor Charity Ngilu and Hon. Beth Mugoamong other five women parliamentarians.

error: Content is protected !!