Kenyatta extends curfew as Tanzania, Somali borders closed

The president has put to a halt the movement of people into and from the republics of Tanzania and Somalia. The directive to close the borders take effect at midnight tonight.

The only exception for the above is cargo vehicles into and out of Kenya through the said borders. However, the driver’s of such vehicles must undergo mandatory testing for Covid-19 before coming into the country. Only after being ascertained to be negative will they be allowed into the country.

At the same time, the President has extended the current 7 PM to 5 AM curfew for another 21 days up to the 6th of June 2020.

Similarly, movement into and out of the Counties of Nairobi, Mombasa, Kilifi and Kwale will stay in place until 6th June.

The measures are meant to check the spread of the novel coronavirus which causes Covid-19.

Share thoughts

Leave a Comment