Here are the members of the Nakuru County assembly Ad-hoc Committee on COVID-19

Nakuru County assembly buildings.PHOTO/courtesy.

The Nakuru County assembly on Wednesday approved the formation of an Ad-hoc Committee to explore ways of helping in the fight against COVID-19 across the County.

The committee members are a representation of the 11 sub counties in Nakuru.

They include MCAs Simon Mwangi(Rongai),George Kiere(Njoro),Kamau Githengi(Nakuru Town West)Mary Waiganjo(Subukia),Michael Machembu(Bahati),Kariuki Mugi(Gilgil),Njuguna Mwaura(Molo),Karanja Mburu(Naivasha),Cyrus Mitei(Kuresoi North),Rose Chepkoech(Kuresoi South),Eddy Kiragu(Nakuru Town East).

MCA Joel Karuri form Naivasha who is also the chair Budget and appropriation committee will also be member.

In addition to the above members, the Speaker,Leader of majority Party,Leader of Minority Party shall be ex-official members.

The Committee will coordinate and serve as a linkage between the Assembly and the Nakuru County COVID-19 Emergency Response Committees.

The team will work in collaboration with the other County Emergency Committees to explore how to cushion Nakuru residents from the effects of the pandemic and oversight the money allocated in combating the pandemic.

The committee will also activate early warning systems on the pandemic and other preventive measures identify vulnerable cases top benefit from any social welfare, assistance from the county government and carry out all information and education initiatives to the public on the Pandemic.

Last week, the House approved the 2nd Supplementary Budget to combat the pandemic.

From the initial amount which Governor Lee Kinyanjui had proposed of Sh. 250 Million to help the most vulnerable residents, the House enhanced it  to Sh311 Million with Sh.3.7 Million allocated to each of the 55 wards, Sh 1.5 Million additional to be used by 30 wards who have most vulnerable people.

During the approval, the Assembly reallocated its Sh. 30million towards the purchase of ventilators towards Nakuru Level Five hospital, the biggest Referral Health Facility in the region which serves more than seven neighboring counties.

The committee alongside other County committees will determine the specific needs of the vulnerable persons in the area, take lead in COVID-19 response, training, information, sensitization and activate early warning systems.

The House recommended all ward committees to come up with modalities to identify beneficiaries by April 20, 2020 and have the list of beneficiaries ready by April 24.

The House also recommended all purchases and supplies be done at the ward level and in cases where such supplies are not available, the same shall be noted in full committee meeting with requisite quorum before supplies are outsourced elsewhere.

Martin Gichinga
Author: Martin Gichinga

Share thoughts

One Reply to “Here are the members of the Nakuru County assembly Ad-hoc Committee on COVID-19”

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: