Four Kenyans nominated for World Athletics Awards 2020

Four Kenyans have been nominated for the World Athletics Awards 2020. Among them are three women who will battle it out for the Female Athlete of the Year 2020 and one male contending for the Male Athlete of the Year 2020.

In a press release by the World Athletics on 2nd November, Timothy Cheruiyot from Kenya who ran the 1500m in a world-leading 3:28.45 has been nominated among other male athletes to battle for the coveted Male Athlete of the Year 2020. Timothy Cheruiyot has run undefeated in three 1500m races.

Male nominees for the World Athletics Awards 2020

Timothy Cheruiyot
Timothy Cheruiyot nominee for male athlete of the year 2020

Cheruiyot will battle it out with 9 other male athletes. The nine are; Donavan Brazier, USA, Joshua Cheptegei of Uganda who broke the world records at 5000m (12:35.36), 10,000m (26:11.00) and 5km on the roads (12:51).

Others are American Ryan Crouser who has participated in 10 undefeated in shot put competitions, Mondo Duplantis of Sweden nominated for breaking the world record in the pole vault twice (6.17m and 6.18m) and produced the highest outdoor vault of all time (6.15m). He has been undefeated in 16 competitions.

Jacob Kiplimo from Uganda who won the World Half Marathon title in a championship record and ran a world-leading 7:26.64 over 3000m, the fastest time in the world since 2007 has also been nominated. Noah Lyles of USA, Daniel Stahl from Sweden, German Johannes Vetter and Karsten Warholm of Norway are the other nominees.

Female nominees for the World Athletics Awards 2020

Hellen Obiri
Hellen Obiri nominee for female athlete of the year 2020

In the female category, three Kenyans make up part of the ten elite athletes. The three are Peres Jepchirchir, Faith Kipyegon and  Hellen Obiri. Obiri has been undefeated in three races over 3000m and 5000m and holds a world-leading 8:22.54 in 3000m. Peres Jepchichir has won the world half marathon title and twice broke the world half-marathon record for a women-only race while Faith Kipyegon has been undefeated in five races over all distances.

Others are Femke Bol (Netherlands), Letesenbet Gidey (Ethiopia), Sifan Hassan of Netherlands and Laura Muir representing Great Britain and Northern Ireland. Laura has run undefeated in three 1500m races.

Yulimar Rojas from Venezuela, undefeated in four triple jump competitions indoors and outdoors,
Elaine Thompson-Herah of Jamaica and Ababel Yeshaneh from Ethiopia are the last three nominees.

The male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced live at the World Athletics Awards 2020 on Saturday 5 December.

Online voting by the public will count for 25% of the determining vote. The public can vote via Twitter by retweeting the tweets of their favourite nominees.

Below are the tweets for the four Kenyans. Vote for your favourite.


Martin Gichinga
Author: Martin Gichinga

Share thoughts

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: