County opens up more COVID-19 vaccination centres to de-congest Nakuru Level 5 facility

Nakuru County Health Department has announced that Covid-19 vaccination will be conducted at all the Level Four facilities across the county.

County Health CECM Dr.Gichuki Kariuki said the move will help de-congest Nakuru  Level 5 Hospital.

This even as a directive was issued that all citizens aged 58years and above be included in the first phase of vaccination.

The CECM noted that Nakuru Level Five hospital has been receiving large numbers of people since Thursday last week.

“Nakuru Level Five hospital has been receiving people from Nairobi, Kericho, Narok, Baringo, Kericho, Nyandarua and Laikipia who chose to be vaccinated there” said Gichuki.

Dr. Gichuki added that private hospitals will also be included in the programme, bringing the number of facilities offering the service in Nakuru to 21.

“The County will be rolling out the Covid-19 vaccination exercise in all the 11 sub-counties and plans are underway to train more facilities for citizens to receive the jab at hospitals near them,” he said.

Already the county government has rolled out training of medical personnel to ensure smooth exercise.

Some of the facilities where residents can access the vaccine include Soin, Naivasha, Subukia, Molo, Gilgil, Bahati and Njoro subcounty hospitals.

Others are War Memorial, Alexandria Cancer Centre, Valley Hospital, Evans Sunrise,St Elizabeth, , Egerton University, Joyleen Women,Nakuru Specialist and Mdiheal private hospitals.

According to Dr.Gichuki, County shall also profile critical service providers such as security, teachers, transport and those in hospitality.

Share thoughts

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: