Business kicks off at Nakuru County Assembly

The second session of the Nakuru County assembly starts today, 6th September 2017.
The first order of business at the 78-member Nakuru County assembly will be the swearing in both elected and nominated MCAs and the election of a speaker.

The house business until the election of a speaker will be overseen by the County Assembly Clear Mr. Joseph Malinda who is also in the race for speaker though there are reports that he may have pulled out.
Frontrunners in the speaker race include former Subukia MP Nelson Gaichuhie, former Nakuru County CeC for Roads Joel Maina Kairu and Jubilee Secretary General Peter “Mtumishi” Cheruiyot.
Other contestants for the speaker’s seat wanting to take over from Hon. Susan Kihika who was elected as speaker are Dr. Mutiti Waithanji, Simon Ngugi Muigai, Lawyer Peter Kiprotich Bore and the only lady in the race Anne Njeri Karigu. Ms. Karigu has previously vied as a Women Rep but lost to Hon. Liza Chelule in the Jubilee Party Primaries.
The second Nakuru County assembly will have 52 men and 26 women. Only 5 of the women got into the assembly through elections with the rest coming in as party nominees.
The Jubilee Party boasts a majority with 49 elected and 21 nominated MCAs bringing their total number to 70. There will be 3 Independent MCAs being George Kiere Machoka of Kihingo Ward, Timothy Kabutu Kabiru of Rhoda Ward and John Njuguna Ndonyo of Bahati Ward.
The Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) Party is represented in the Nakuru County assembly by 3 MCAs namely Peter Palang’a of Olkaria Ward, Wilbur Onyango Amara of Kivumbini Ward and Peter Mwamba Kanjwang’ of Kaptembwa Ward.
The swearing goes on despite a petition of urgency filed on Tuesday by four Nakuru residents wishing to stop the swaering in of the nominated MCAs.
Also attending the swearing in of the MCAs are Nakuru County Governor Lee Kinyanjui, his Deputy Eric Korir, Senator Susan Kihika, MPs and Gilgil MP Hon. Martha Wangari among other elected and former MPs.

Share thoughts