Famous Nakuru County

About Nakuru County

Nakuru is County number 32 out of the 47 Kenyan Counties. With an area of 7,496.5 KM², it is the 19th largest County in size. However, it has the third-largest population after Nairobi and Kiambu. Nakuru County has a population on 2,162,000 as per the 2019 census.

Nakuru is subdivided into 11 Sub-counties (Constituencies) which are in turn subdivided into 55 wards. Naivasha Sub-county has the highest population in Nakuru County and also the largest in size.

Nakuru County Leadership

Nakuru County Leadership

The first Governor for Nakuru was Kinuthia Mbugua (2013-2017) who joined Statehouse as comptroller after dropping out of the 2017 elections. After Kinuthia Mbugua, Lee Kinyanjui a former Nakuru Town MP was elected as Governor in 2017.

James Kiarie Mungai was the first Senator for Nakuru County (2013 – 2017). Susan Kihika the first speaker of the County Assembly of Nakuru was elected Senator in 2017.

Nakuru County MPs

Nakuru has had a number of MPs since independence. These are the MPs for the various Constituencies after 2013.

MPs between 2013 – 2017

Naivasha – John Kihagi
Gilgil – Samuel Mathenge
Bahati – Onesmus Kimani Ngunjiri
Subukia – Nelson Gaichuhie
Rongai – Raymond Moi
Njoro – Joseph Kiuna
Molo – Jacob Macharia
Kuresoi North – Moses Cheboi
Kuresoi South – Zachariah Cheruiyot.
Nakuru Town East – David Gikaria
Nakuru Town West – Samuel Arama

Nakuru County MPs (2017 -)

Naivasha – Jayne Kihara
Gilgil – Martha Wangari
Bahati – Onesmus Kimani Ngunjiri
Subukia – Samuel Gachobe
Rongai – Raymond Moi
Njoro – Charity Kathambi Chepkwony
Molo – Kuria Kimani
Kuresoi North – Moses Cheboi
Kuresoi South – Joseph Tonui
Nakuru Town East – David Gikaria
Nakuru Town West – Samuel Arama

Nakuru County MCAs

As one of the counties with a very high population, Nakuru County has also a high number of MCAs. Between 2013 to 2017, Nakuru County had 78 MCAs. 55 elected plus 23 nominated MCAs. In August 2014, nominated MCA Damaris Mbuthia died while in office. She was replaced by Justine Kihumba.

Here is a list of Nakuru County MCAs from 2013 to 2017.


After the 2017 elections, only five of the 78 MCAs found their way back to the County Assembly.
Irene Chebichii, formally a nominated MCA was elected MCA for Soin ward. Others who were re-elected are Moses (Musa)…. the current Majority leader, Peter Palang’a of Ol’Karia ward who is the minority leader. Others are Nessuit MCA Samuel Tonui “Chonjo” who is the Deputy Speaker, and Tinet MCA

Here is the complete list of Nakuru County MCAs after 2017.


Nakuru County Sub-Counties & Wards

Here are the 11 Nakuru County Sub-counties and the wards in each

Naivasha Sub-County

  • Maiela Ward
  • Lake View Ward
  • Viwandani Ward
  • Biashara Ward
  • Hellsgate Ward
  • Maai Mahiu Ward
  • Naivasha East
  • Ol’Karia Ward

Kuresoi North Sub-County

  • Kiptororo Ward
  • Sirikwa Ward
  • Kamara Ward
  • Nyota ward

Njoro Sub-County

  • Nessuit Ward
  • Njoro Ward
  • Kihingo Ward
  • Mau-Narok Ward
  • Mauche Ward
  • Lare Ward

Subukia Sub-County

  • Subukia Ward
  • Kabazi Ward
  • Waseges Ward

Rongai Sub-county

  • Mosop Ward
  • Visoi ward
  • Soin Ward
  • Menengai West Ward
  • Solai Ward

Nakuru West Constituency

  • Rhoda Ward
  • Kaptembwa Ward
  • Kapkures Ward
  • Shabaab Ward
  • Barut Ward
  • London ward

Gilgil Sub-County

  • Malewa Ward
  • Gilgil Town Ward
  • Eburru / Mbaruk Ward
  • Murindat ward
  • Elementaita

Kuresoi South Sub-county

  • Keringet Ward
  • Tinet Ward
  • Amalo Ward
  • Kiptagich Ward

Molo Sub-County

  • Molo Ward
  • Elburgon Ward
  • Marioshoni Ward
  • Turi ward

Bahati Constituency

  • Bahati ward
  • Kiamaina Ward
  • Kabatini ward
  • Lanet-Umoja Ward
  • Dundori

Nakuru East Constituency

  • Nakuru East Ward
  • Biashara Ward
  • Menengai East Ward
  • Flamingo Ward
  • Kivumbini Ward
Gilgil looking beautiful from the skies. Photo by James Wakibia

Nakuru County Provincial Administration

With the established of devolved units in 2010, the National Government reorganized the Provincial administration. The positions of PC were scrapped and instead we have Regional Commissioners who are in-charge of several common counties.
At the County level we have County Commissioners representing the Government and the Deputy County Commissioners (DCC) are in-charge of sub-counties representing the national government. Below them we have Assistant County Commissioners, Chiefs and Assistant Chiefs.

The first Regional Commissioner based in Nakuru from 2013 was Wanyama Musimabo. He was replaced by Mongo Chimwanga who served only briefly before George Natembeya took over.

The first County Commissioner for Nakuru County was Mohammed Birik (2013-2015). Joshua Nkanatha (2015-2019) was replaced by Erastus Mbui in early 2019 as the County Commissioner.