45 Nakuru MCAs defect from Jubilee to UDA party

Forty-Five (45) Nakuru County MCAs have defected from the Jubilee Party and joined the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) party.

The 45 Members of the County Assembly were received by the party leader H.E. Dr William Ruto at his Karen residence and Nakuru Senator Susan Kihika. They were led by the Nakuru County Assembly Majority Leader, Moses Ndung’u and Deputy Speaker Samuel Tonui.

“With aspirants from Nakuru County led by Senator Susan Kihika. 45 MCAs led by Moses Ndung’u, Majority Leader and Samuel Tonui, Deputy Speaker defected from Jubilee to UDA,” reported the Deputy President after receiving the 45 defectors.

Also present to receive them were MPs Kithure Kindiki (Tharaka Nithi), Rigathi Gachagua (Mathira), Ndindi Nyoro (Kiharu), Irungu Kang’ata (Muranga) and Charles Njagua (Starehe) were present.

UDA leaders
UDA leaders receiving Nakuru MCAs who defected from Jubilee to UDA

With a total of 78 MCAs)55 elected and 23 nominated) the 45 represent more than 80% of the elected MCAs in Nakuru County.

MCA Karanja Mariamu defects from Jubilee to UDA
MCA Karanja Mariamu among 45 Nakuru MCAs who defected from Jubilee to UDA

Their defection to UDA shows the direction Nakuru County politics is taking with the majority of the voters leaning towards the UDA party. Nakuru County is also one of the leading counties with the most registered UDA party members.

The Nakuru Senator, Susan Kihika has been pivotal in the growth of the UDA party in Nakuru. She spearhead the membership drive on top of campaigning for London Ward MCA Nzuki Wachira who was the first-ever political leader elected on a UDA ticket.

Share thoughts